The Gambling Times - Comprensive online gambling resource, bigger bonuses, exclusive offers, best betting advice, with all the latest news and reviews...
  • Register
  • Help
  • Not yet a member? Register here

  • Home
  • Forum
    • Today's Posts
    • FAQ
    • Calendar
    • Community
      • Member List
      • Thanks / Like Statistics
    • Forum Actions
      • Mark Forums Read
    • Quick Links
      • View Site Leaders
  • Bookmaker
  • Casino
  • Poker
  • My Cashback
  • What's New?
  • Home
  • Forum
  • General Chat
  • Player Support / Gaming Site Feedback / General Complaints
  • Is Bodog a high-risk site?

Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: Is Bodog a high-risk site?

  • LinkBack
    • LinkBack URL LinkBack URL
    • About LinkBacks About LinkBacks
    •  
    • Bookmark & Share
    • Digg this Thread!
    • Add Thread to del.icio.us
    • Bookmark in Technorati
    • Tweet this thread
  • Thread Tools
    • Show Printable Version
    • Subscribe to this Thread…
  • Display
    • Switch to Hybrid Mode
    • Switch to Threaded Mode
  1. 16/07/2011 10:38 #1
    Fella
    Fella is offline
    Premium Member Top Tipster WinnerStar Post winner (click to find out more!)TGT poker tournament winnerThis user is trusted to offer refer a friend deals (RAF) on the forumPost of the Month winner Fella's Avatar
    Join Date
    05/10/2008
    Posts
    1,911
    Post Thanks
    Thanks (Given)
    0
    Thanks (Received)
    3
    Chats: 0

    Is Bodog a high-risk site?

    Interesting poker stats here:

    Online Poker Traffic Rankings & News | Poker Sites & Networks | PokerScout

    Bodog sticks out like a sore thumb to me as the biggest site that's currently accepting US players AND has a sportsbetting side. IMO they are at high-risk from the FBI, accepting US Poker players is a tad insane in this climate.
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote

  2. 16/07/2011 10:57 #2
    CountryLad
    CountryLad is offline
    Premium Member Star Post winner (click to find out more!)This user is trusted to offer refer a friend deals (RAF) on the forum CountryLad's Avatar
    Join Date
    24/07/2009
    Posts
    1,352
    Post Thanks
    Thanks (Given)
    174
    Thanks (Received)
    93
    Chats: 344
    Quote Originally Posted by CountryLad View Post
    There appear to currently be 3 separate companies, all licensing the sportsbook services and the name 'Bodog' from an entity called 'BodogBrand' Bodog Brand

    Bodog UK lines vs Bodog US lines - Sports Handicapping, Betting & Picks - SBR Forum

    The relationship between BodogBrand and the licensees is more like that of Entraction sportsbook operators, or even dare I say it Oddsmatrix licensees.

    Bodog Network Licencees BodogNetwork

    The company facing the UK (and Canada) that calls itself Bodog Europe licenses that name from BodogBrand, and has no direct connection with Bodog88, which is owned by Haydock Entertainment. For completeness, a third licensee, Bodog.com, owned by MMGG, has no direct relationship to the other two.

    It's been the case since Bodog Europe started that the UK customers weren't able to use Bodog.com, and I'm guessing that there is some sort of geographically-based non-compete clause in the franchises. I'm also guessing that Bodog Europe has complained that Bodog88 were trespassing into their patch by taking on UK customers, and that we're seeing some sort of settlement for the situation unfold.

    Only bodog.com (owned by MMGG) accepts US players. None of the other bodogbrand franchises should be affected, surely? If the authorities went after bodogbrand, then I assume the funds held by the franchisees would be relatively safe? Might be worth asking bodogbrand about how the funds are held...
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Tags for this Thread

  • bodog

View Tag Cloud

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
  • BB code is On
  • Smilies are On
  • [IMG] code is On
  • [VIDEO] code is On
  • HTML code is Off
  • Trackbacks are On
  • Pingbacks are On
  • Refbacks are On

Forum Rules

    Visit Livescore now
  • Contact Us
  • The Gambling Times
  • Archive
  • Privacy Statement
  • Terms of Service
  • Top
All times are GMT. The time now is 12:22.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.1.10
Copyright © 2012 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
Extra Tabs by vBulletin Hispano
The Gambling Times