Derby line-up confirmed – bad draw for the favourite

The line-up for the Derby has been confirmed and the draw for the big race has taken place.

However, it was not great news for odds-on favourite Saxon Warrior who was drawn into stall one – not a good place to be for the Aidan O’Brien trained star.

O’Brien has also Delano Roosevelt, Kew Gardens, The Pentagon and Zabriskie in the race.

Dermot Weld won his first Derby just two years ago with Harzand and has a close relative of the 2016 hero representing him this season in Hazapour, winner of the Derrinstown Stud Trial.

Roaring Lion is one of two runners for John Gosden with the rain persuading him to let Sevenna Star take his chance. He will be a first Derby ride for Robert Havlin.

Young Rascal, owned by Investec’s managing director Bernard Kantor, runs for William Haggas with Craven winner Masar aiming to be the first winner in Godolphin’s blue silks.

Harry Dunlop’s Knight To Behold was very impressive in the Lingfield Derby Trial and has his supporters while Mark Johnston’s Dee Ex Bee completes the field. He will be ridden by champion jockey Silvestre de Sousa.

O’Brien’s Rostropovich and Nelson were the only horses not declared from the five-day stage.

Bookmakers have now eased Saxon Warrior as a result of the draw to Evens from 8/11.

“Being drawn in stall one, on going that could well be softer than ideal, means Saxon Warrior has a couple of serious obstacles to overcome if he is to add the Derby to his Guineas win, and as a result we’ve eased him from odds-on to evens favourite, and it’s possible that price could yet drift even further,” said Coral’s David Stevens.

The draw for the 2018 Investec Derby

1 (6) Dee Ex Bee Mark Johnston 9st 0lb Silvestre De Sousa
2 (4) Delano Roosevelt (IRE) Aidan O’Brien, Ireland 9st 0lb
3 (3) Hazapour (IRE) D. K. Weld, Ireland 9st 0lb Frankie Dettori
4 (12) Kew Gardens (IRE) Aidan O’Brien, Ireland 9st 0lb
5 (2) Knight To Behold (IRE) Harry Dunlop 9st 0lb Richard Kingscote
6 (10) Masar (IRE) Charlie Appleby 9st 0lb William Buick
7 (5) Roaring Lion (USA) John Gosden 9st 0lb Oisin Murphy
8 (1) Saxon Warrior (JPN) Aidan O’Brien, Ireland 9st 0lb
9 (7) Sevenna Star (IRE) John Gosden 9st 0lb Robert Havlin
10 (11) The Pentagon (IRE) Aidan O’Brien, Ireland 9st 0lb
11 (9) Young Rascal (FR) William Haggas 9st 0lb James Doyle
12 (8) Zabriskie (IRE) Aidan O’Brien, Ireland 9st 0lb


Related Posts

This website is strictly for over 18’s. If you do have any concerns about gambling please contact GambleAware
© 2023 The Gambling Times. All rights reserved.