Footballer of the Year – Tough choice, but De Bruyne gets my vote

So voting is now taking place for the Football Writers’ Footballer of the Year – and my vote, although a tough choice, had to go with Kevin De Bruyne, for me the best player in the Premier League.

Mo Salah celebrated being crowned PFA Player of the Year, and I have no qualms whatsoever, indeed to pick between the Egyptian and Belgian is a tough call.

Few could argue that these two players have been the pick of this Premier League season, perhaps with honourable mentions for the likes of Christian Eriksen, Leroy Sane and David Silva.

But for me it was a straight a choice between Salah and De Bruyne.

With Salah there is no doubting what a great season he has had, which could yet end with him being the Premier League’s leading goalscorer in one season, and he has already broken the 40-goal barrier, a feat only ever achieved in Liverpool red by Ian Rush and Roger Hunt – which shows just how special he has been.

However, whilst this is an individual award – you can’t forget just how special Manchester City have been all season, one of the most impressive title successes in our lifetime and the man at the heart of that has been De Bruyne.

For me, as it stands he is the best player in the Premier League – his game has moved onto another level, playing slightly deeper, this season has seen him become the key-stone to Pep Guardiola’s brilliant team.

Some of De Bruyne’s displays, especially earlier in the season were breathtaking and I think over the course of the season he edges out Salah – but as I said earlier, it was a very close call.

So who else came close, well – here is my XI for the season, but for me if Salah was second to De Bruyne, I would have had Eriksen in third – all three are as good as anything in the world right now.

Premier League XI


GK – Ederson
RB – Walker
CB – Maguire
CB – Van Dijk
LB – Alonso
CM – Eriksen
CM – De Bruyne
CM – Silva
FOR – Salah
FOR – Kane
FOR – Sane




Related Posts

This website is strictly for over 18’s. If you do have any concerns about gambling please contact GambleAware
© 2023 The Gambling Times. All rights reserved.