Premier League Darts Preview – Final night

Reigning champion Michael van Gerwen is odds on to secure a third Premier League title as he looks to bag the £250,000 first prize at The O2 in London.

Van Gerwen topped the league table for a fifth successive regular season with his 7-4 win over Anderson in Aberdeen last week, and is now aiming to claim another title and he faces Anderson again in his semi-final of the play-offs.

“It’s four good players and you can’t let them have a sniff of the trophy, because if you give them a finger they will take your hand. I want to win the trophy again and it would be really special if I can,” said the Dutchman.

Anderson, meanwhile, is aiming to follow up his 2011 and 2015 Premier League triumphs by completing his own hat-trick.

With Van Gerwen as the 4/7 title favourite, Wright is the 9/2 second favourite, with Anderson 5/1 and Taylor 11/1.

Van Gerwen is 1/3 to win his semi-final against Anderson (9/4), while Wright is odds-on at 1/2 to defeat Taylor (13/8).

The evening will see Phil Taylor playing in his last Premier League matches. He will compete in his final night of action as he heads towards retirement at the start of 2018, bringing the curtain down on the most successful career in the event’s history.

The champion for the first four years of the Premier League from 2005-2008, Taylor also won the 2010 and 2012 titles to take his tally of victories to six.

Despite those years of dominance, Taylor has lost out to Van Gerwen in two finals since – most recently last year at The O2 – and enters this year’s Play-Offs as the 11/1 outsider.

He faces world number three Wright in their semi-final, but is in relaxed mood as he chases a seventh Premier League title.

In contrast, Wright will be making his Play-Offs debut, having finished in fifth position twice in his previous three Premier League challenges.

However, the Scot is in confident mood after winning seven tournaments so far in 2017, including his first televised title at March’s UK Open.

“I’ve been close to the Play-Offs before but I’ve made it this time, and I want to go and win the Premier League now,” said Wright. “I’ve seen these great guys win it in recent years and I want to be one of those great guys too.

“To be in the top four alongside Phil, Michael and Gary is immense and I’m really happy with how the season has gone.”

Tournament Winner
4/7 Michael van Gerwen
9/2 Peter Wright
5/1 Gary Anderson
11/1 Phil Taylor


Related Posts

This website is strictly for over 18’s. If you do have any concerns about gambling please contact GambleAware
© 2023 The Gambling Times. All rights reserved.