Unibet Premier League – Manchester Preview

Michael van Gerwen is aiming to secure top spot in the Unibet Premier League as the tournament visits The Manchester Arena on Thursday.

League leader Van Gerwen and fourth-placed Michael Smith both play twice as the remaining eight players battle it out to secure their place in the Play-Offs at The O2 next month.

Reigning champion Van Gerwen can secure first place for a sixth successive season with wins over Daryl Gurney and Smith, who are both in the race to make the final four.

Having suffered back-to-back defeats over two nights in Rotterdam last week, the world number one is eager to bounce back in Manchester.

Smith opens the night against Peter Wright before returning to face Van Gerwen, and the former World Youth Champion is focused on securing his own Play-Off place.

Gurney secured a much-needed win over Simon Whitlock in the final game in Rotterdam, and the Northern Irishman hasn’t given up hope of securing a top-four place despite being three points adrift of Smith.

Rob Cross can secure his spot in the Play-Offs with a win over Raymond van Barneveld, and the reigning World Champion is hopeful of making it five wins from five over the Dutchman.

Van Barneveld, fresh from his monumental win over Van Gerwen in Rotterdam, will need to pick up a win over Cross to keep his top four hopes alive.


Gary Anderson will also be hoping to back up his three wins in Rotterdam with another victory over Simon Whitlock, which would be enough to secure the two-time Premier League champion’s place at The O2.

Unibet Match Odds
11/10 Peter Wright 33/10 Draw 7/4 Michael Smith

13/2 Daryl Gurney 11/2 Draw 7/25 Michael van Gerwen

7/1 Simon Whitlock 11/2 Draw 7/25 Gary Anderson

5/2 Raymond van Barneveld 7/2 Draw 4/5 Rob Cross

11/2 Michael Smith 5/1 Draw 1/3 Michael van Gerwen

League Table

P W D L +/- LWAT Pts
Michael van Gerwen 12 9 0 3 +34 28 18
Gary Anderson 13 7 3 3 +19 26 17
Rob Cross 13 8 1 4 +10 29 17
Michael Smith 12 8 0 4 +24 32 16
Daryl Gurney 13 4 5 4 +1 27 13
Raymond van Barneveld 13 5 2 6 -12 22 12
Peter Wright 13 3 5 5 -17 22 11
Simon Whitlock 13 4 2 7 -17 18 10
Mensur Suljovic (E) 9 2 0 7 -13 12 4
Gerwyn Price (E) 9 0 2 7 -29 12 2


Related Posts

This website is strictly for over 18’s. If you do have any concerns about gambling please contact GambleAware
© 2023 The Gambling Times. All rights reserved.