World Athletics Championships Preview

Great Britain are ready for the 2019 Athletics World Championships and have sent a squad of over 70 athletes to Qatar.

The British arrive with some genuine gold medal chances, and all are women in the shape of Dina Asher-Smith, Laura Muir and Katarina Johnson-Thompson and are hopeful they can improve on their London 2017 haul of six medals in total.

Asher-Smith goes in the 100 and 200 metres, Muir in the 1500 metres and Johnson-Thompson is aiming for gold in the Heptahlon.

Asher-Smith is looking to become the first British woman ever to win a sprint title at world level, with the previous best being Kathy Cook’s bronze at the World Championships in 1983.

But she is highly fancied in both sprints and arrives in Doha in confident mood.

“It’s refreshing we are expected to do something,” she said.

“Whenever I’ve gone into a race this season I’ve had to bring my ‘A’ game and that will stand me in good stead going into the World Championships.”

Muir comes in off the back of a calf injury which has meant she has not raced competitively since July.

“It’s a World Championships and will always be really tough,” said Muir. “When you run well year after year the pressure gets higher, but I’ve shown in Championships I can cope with it very well.”

Johnson-Thompson is the other major hope as she looks to follow in the footsteps of the likes of Jessica Ennis-Hill and Denise Lewis – both who have claimed senior titles in Heptahlon.

But KJT will have to overcome Belgian superstar Nafissatou Thiam, who is the reigning champion.

“She’s a phenomenal athlete and has been getting better and better,” Johnson-Thomson admitted.

“However, I’ve always thought I have to concentrate on myself. If I do my best I can win.”

Great Britain World Athletics squad

100m: Ojie Edoburun, Adam Gemili, Zharnel Hughes
200m: Miguel Francis, Adam Gemili, Zharnel Hughes
400m: Matthew Hudson-Smith, Rabah Yousif
800m: Elliot Giles, Kyle Langford, Jamie Webb
1500m: Neil Gourley, Josh Kerr, Jake Wightman
5,000m: Andrew Butchart, Ben Connor, Marc Scott
3,000m steeplechase: Zak Seddon
110m hurdles: Andrew Pozzi
400m hurdles: Chris McAlister
Pole vault: Harry Coppell
Triple jump: Ben Williams
Hammer: Nick Miller
Decathlon: Tim Duckworth
Marathon: Callum Hawkins
20km race walk: Tom Bosworth, Callum Wilkinson
50km race walk: Cameron Corbishley, Dominic King
4x100m relay: Ojie Edoburun, Miguel Francis, Adam Gemili, Zharnel Hughes, Richard Kilty, Nethaneel Mitchell-Blake, Harry Aikines-Aryeetey
4x400m relay: Cameron Chalmers, Dwayne Cowan, Toby Harries, Matthew Hudson-Smith, Martyn Rooney, Lee Thompson, Rabah Yousif

100m: Dina Asher-Smith, Daryll Neita, Asha Philip, Imani-Lara Lansiquot
200m: Dina Asher-Smith, Beth Dobbin, Jodie Williams
400m: Emily Diamond, Laviai Nielsen
800m: Alexandra Bell, Shelayna Oskan-Clarke, Lynsey Sharp
1500m: Sarah McDonald, Laura Muir, Jemma Reekie
5,000m: Jessica Judd, Eilish McColgan, Laura Weightman
10,000m: Eilish McColgan, Steph Twell
3,000m steeplechase: Elizabeth Bird, Rosie Clarke, Aimee Pratt
100m hurdles: Cindy Ofili
400m Hurdles: Meghan Beesley, Jessica Turner
High jump: Morgan Lake
Pole vault: Holly Bradshaw
Long jump: Abigail Irozuru, Shara Proctor, Jazmin Sawyers
Shot put: Sophie McKinna
Heptathlon: Katarina Johnson-Thompson
Marathon: Tish Jones, Charlotte Purdue
4x100m Relay: Dina Asher-Smith, Kristal Awuah, Imani-Lara Lansiquot, Daryll Neita, Ashleigh Nelson, Asha Philip
4x400m Relay: Finette Agyapong, Amy Allcock, Zoey Clark, Emily Diamond, Beth Dobbin, Laviai Nielsen, Jessica Turner, Jodie Williams

Related Posts

This website is strictly for over 18’s. If you do have any concerns about gambling please contact GambleAware
© 2023 The Gambling Times. All rights reserved.